Lamplight/Lámpafény – #3


Attila József: To sit, to stand, to kill, to die/Ülni, állni, ölni, halni

To toss away this chair,

to squat in front of train,

to climb up hill with care,

to turn out the sack down dale

to feed my old spider a bee

to caress an old lady

tasty bean soup to eat

here’s the mud to tiptoe in it

on rail track to lay my lid

just to walk around the pond

to sit clothed on its bottom

to blush amidst the sparkly waves

to bloom among the sunflowers –

or just to sigh a beauty

just a fly to shoo off

and my book to dust off –

to spit in my mirror

right in the middle,

to make peace with my foes,

kill them all with swords,

to check the blood, it pours,

to watch a girl, she turns –

or to simply sit idle –

to set Budapest on fire

to wait for a bird on my crumb,

to smash my bad loaf on the ground,

get my valentine to shreak,

her little sister to squeeze,

and if accountable to the world,

to leave it, never to see me –

 

oh, binder, deliverer,

now this rhyme’s writer,

jokester, and lamenter,

my life, you chooser!

Leave a Reply

