Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 – David Yates


It finally all ended! As expected the second part of The Deathly Hallows was dynamic and concentrated on the main theme of the saga, the confrontation between Harry and you know who. It is obviously more powerful and entertaining than the first part, the dynamics of an apocalyptic battle between good and evil must be epic and it is.

But the characters are underdeveloped; the main trio Harry-Hermoine-Ron is obstructed by the incapacities or lack of real acting experience of Radcliffe, Watson and Grint while the other parts, some brilliant, are cut back by too short appearances.

The fat lady can sing but she does not sing above all expectations but she might reach the ones of the most faithful fans.

Concentrated on the main conflict the last parts of Harry Potter revealed that the narrative’s forte relied on the episodic characters, episodic clashes and the small details of wizards’ life and their community. The true charming wickedness is there.

Anyway, the Harry Potter series remain one of the most important ones in the last decade’s pop literature and cinema and time will tell exactly how much of it was really worth the global frantic attention.

My opinion is that the story reached its perfection and uniqueness with the third part, The Prisoner of Azkaban. That’s the main jewel in the crown for me.

2 responses to this post.

  1. It’s funny you prefer Prisoner of Azkaban, which for me has always been the weakest film. I think because (in my opinion) it’s extremely confusing for people watching it who haven’t read the books. In all other Harry Potter films my friends and family have tended to get what’s going on, but I’ve never had so many questions asked of me at the end of Azkaban!
    Also, Prisoner of Azkaban has always been my favourite book of the whole series, so perhaps that’s also why I’m not so keen on the film version, because it doesn’t quite live up to my expectations.
    I saw the Deathly Hallows Part 2 last night and I was very impressed indeed. Even the cringeworthy epilogue at the end was handled very well – it ran the risk of ruining the film somewhat but I thought it was great 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sorry for the late reply. I have never read any of the Harry Potter books. I had no questions regarding the plot in The Pizoner of Azkaban. An adaptation is not good when faithfully follows the book but when it can exist without the book or when it fulfills the book or when it smartly avoids the book. The Prisoner of Azkaban is the part I could revisit anytime. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

